July 16 2024


An archive of Star Trek News

Trek Composer McCarthy To Receive ASCAP Award

1 min read

Dennis McCarthy, known to Star Trek fans for his musical composition work on Star Trek dating back to 1987, will be honored with the ASCAP Golden Note Award this summer.

McCarthy, whose association with Star Trek began with Star Trek: The Next Generation, also composed music for Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Star Trek: Voyager and Star Trek: Enterprise, for a total of almost two hundred and sixty episodes. McCarthy also composed music for 1994’s Star Trek: Generations.

As we celebrate the 25th anniversary of our Film & Television Music Awards, we are especially proud to spotlight the achievement … [of] Dennis McCarthy,” said ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams. “Dennis has composed scores for beloved TV series and films for over three decades, and he is still at the top of his craft. His music for Star Trek has earned him industry accolades and captured the hearts of multiple generations of Trekkies. We are proud to give the Golden Note Award to Dennis in recognition of his long and illustrious career.”

According to the ASCAP website, “The ASCAP Golden Note Award is presented to songwriters, composers, and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones. Past recipients include Mark Snow, Andre Previn, Garth Brooks, José Feliciano, Alan Jackson, Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, and Jay-Z, Tom Petty, and Stevie Wonder.”

McCarthy will receive his award on June 24 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles, at the 25th Annual ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards.

About The Author

©1999 - 2024 TrekToday and Christian Höhne Sparborth. Star Trek and related marks are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc. TrekToday and its subsidiary sites are in no way affiliated with CBS Studios Inc. | Newsphere by AF themes.