April 18 2024


An archive of Star Trek News

Brooks Joins Springfield Symphony Orchestra Performance

1 min read

On February 27, Deep Space Nine‘s Avery Brooks will join the Springfield Symphony Orchestra for a concert which celebrates Black History Month.

On the program will be “the words of Martin Luther King Jr., music of Duke Ellington, story of Porgy and Bess, and Aaron Copland‘s Fanfare for the Common Man.”

The concert will begin with Fanfare for the Common Man, and be followed by a brief excerpt from Ellington’s ballet The River. After that, Brooks will narrate New Morning for The World, which is based on the speeches of King and which runs for almost a half hour. The second half of the concert will feature George Gershwin‘s opera Porgy and Bess.

“For me, the expression of culture, of my people is a priority,” said Brooks. “I am compelled by the history of my people.

“Music is this glue, this way – everywhere – for people to express, and to be together and to create, and to move forward.”

Tickets for the program range from $22-$65 and can be ordered here. The venue is the Springfield Symphony Hall in Springfield, Massachusetts.

About The Author

©1999 - 2024 TrekToday and Christian Höhne Sparborth. Star Trek and related marks are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc. TrekToday and its subsidiary sites are in no way affiliated with CBS Studios Inc. | Newsphere by AF themes.