April 24 2024


An archive of Star Trek News

There will be six conventions or shows in August and September that feature Trek actors of interest to Star Trek fans. This listing of conventions and shows feature actors from all five televised series, plus from the Star Trek movies, including guest actors.

Five of the conventions will be held in August, the conventions or shows are: Creation Entertainment’s Official Star Trek Convention 2010 (Las Vegas), SETIcon 2010, Creation Entertainment’s East Coast Official Star Trek Convention (New Jersey), Wizard World’s Chicago Comic Con and FanExpo Canada. In September, fans can see many Trek actors at Dragon*Con in Atlanta, Georgia.

The month of August starts off with Creation Entertainment’s Star Trek Las Vegas, held Aug 4-8, which bills itself as the “world’s largest Star Trek convention” and indeed has an impressive Star Trek guest list. Appearing at the Official Star Trek Convention 2010 as guests will be: William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, Sir Patrick Stewart, Brent Spiner, Avery Brooks, Jeri Ryan, Rod Roddenberry Jr., Jonathan Frakes, Nana Visitor, Connor Trinneer, Walter Koenig, Robert Beltran, Dominic Keating, George Takei, Armin Shimerman, Michael Dorn, Robert Picardo, James Darren, René Auberjonois, Ethan Phillips, Bruce Greenwood, Marc Alaimo, Anthony Montgomery, Garrett Wang, Jeffrey Combs, John Billingsley, John De Lancie, Grace Lee Whitney, Casey Biggs, Andrew Robinson, Aron Eisenberg, Jennifer Lien, Salome Jens, Scarlett Pomers, William Sadler, Martha Hackett, writer David Gerrold and more!

Another attempt will be made at the Official Star Trek Las Vegas 2010 Convention to break the Guinness World Record for most fans dressed as Star Trek characters. On Saturday August 7 at 9:00 AM, fans will gather in hopes of beating the record, which currently stands at 508 people dressed as Trek characters.

SETIcon 2010 will be held from August 13-15 at the Hyatt Regency in Santa Clara. John Billingsley (Star Trek: Enterprise‘s Dr. Phlox) will be on the 2012 panel, where he will share behind the scenes information and discuss what it was like working on the movie. The 2012 panel will also include leading scientists who will discuss the facts and myths behind the 2012 Mayan prophecies.

Creation Entertainment’s East Coast Official Star Trek Convention will be held from August 13-15 in Parsippany, New Jersey. Of note to Star Trek fans will be the following actor guests: Jeri Ryan, George Takei, Nana Visitor, Armin Shimerman, Jeffrey Combs, Jennifer Liens, Ethan Phillips, Casey Biggs, Max Grodénchik and Vaughn Armstrong.

A highlight of the convention should be the “Star Trek Rat Pack Nightclub Cabaret Performance” which will feature a comedy show down in the style of the classic Vegas “rat pack” and featuring Grodénchik, Armstrong, Combs, Biggs and Shimerman.

Wizard World’s Chicago Comic Con runs from August 19-22 at the Rosement Convention Center. Billed as a major” pop-culture convention”, fans of comics, toys and collectibles can interact with other fans and see “actors, writers and artists that each industry has to offer.”

On the guest list for Wizard World’s Chicago Comic Con is: William Shatner, Sir Patrick Stewart, Avery Brooks, Walter Koenig, Brent Spiner and John De Lancie. Star Trek: The Next Generation guest star Daniel Stewart (son of Patrick) (The Inner Light‘s young Batai),  Natalija Nogulich (Deep Space Nine‘s Admiral Alynna Nechayev, John Savage (Star Trek: Voyager: Equinox), Bobby Clark (Gorn Captain) and Malachi Throne (Commodore Mendez, Pardek) will also be in attendance.

Finally, FanExpo Canada will take place from August 27-29 at the Metro Toronto Convention Center. On the guest list of interest to Trek fans are: William Shatner, Joan Collins, Michelle Forbes, Julie Newmar (Eleen) and Michael Dorn along with Trek author Keith R.A. DeCandido.

In September, the 24th Dragon*Con will be held on Labor Day Weekend, from September 3-6 in Atlanta, Georgia. Trek guests of interest in attendance at Dragon*Con will be: René Auberjonois, Robert Beltran, Avery Brooks, LeVar Burton, Denise Crosby, John de Lancie, Michelle Forbes, Jonathan Frakes, J.G. Hertzler, Robert Duncan McNeill, Robert O’Reilly, Armin Shimerman, Marina Sirtis, Brent Spiner and Garrett Wang.

In addition, Trek authors A.C. Crispin, Keith R.A. DeCandido, Peter David and Josepha Sherman will be at Dragon*Con as well as Star Trek New Voyages: Phase II‘s James Cawley and Carlos Pedraza.

About The Author

©1999 - 2024 TrekToday and Christian Höhne Sparborth. Star Trek and related marks are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc. TrekToday and its subsidiary sites are in no way affiliated with CBS Studios Inc. | Newsphere by AF themes.