May 24 2024


An archive of Star Trek News

Star Trek: Discovery Saturn Awards Wins

1 min read

Last night was the 44th Saturn Awards ceremony, which was held in Burbank, California; and Star Trek: Discovery won two of its five nominations.

Star Trek: Discovery won for Best New Media Television Series, beating out Altered Carbon, Black Mirror, The Handmaid’s Tale, Mindhunter, Philip K. Dick’s Electric Dreams, and Stranger Things.

Sonequa Martin-Jones won for Best Actress on a Television Series. She beat out Gillian Anderson, Caitriona Balfe, Melissa Benoist, Lena Headey, Adrianne Palicki, Sarah Paulson, and Mary Elizabeth Winstead.

Jason Isaacs lost out Best Actor in Television to Kyle MacLachan (Twin Peaks). Michelle Yeoh was beat by David Lynch (Twin Peaks) who walked away with Best Guest-Starring Performance on Television. Doug Jones lost to Michael McKean (Better Call Saul) for Best-Supporting Actor on a Television Series.

Other Trek actors took home Saturns, including Sir Patrick Stewart (Best Supporting Actor in a Film) for Logan. Chris Pine was also nominated in this category.

Joe Harlow (Star Trek Beyond) won Best Film Makeup for his work on Black Panther, and Michael Giacchino (the three new Trek movies) won Best Music for Coco. The Shape of Water, which starred Doug Jones, won for Best Fantasy film.

Congratulations to Discovery and to Martin-Green and the other Trek winners!

About The Author

©1999 - 2024 TrekToday and Christian Höhne Sparborth. Star Trek and related marks are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc. TrekToday and its subsidiary sites are in no way affiliated with CBS Studios Inc. | Newsphere by AF themes.